Mouscron (Belgium)

Mouscron (60.000 inhabitants) is a Walloon city and municipality located in the Belgian province of Hainaut, along the border with the French city of Tourcoing, which is part of the Lille metropolitan area. The municipality of Mouscron includes the old municipalities of Dottignies, Luingne, and Herseaux. Mouscron forms a conurbation with the French metropolitan area of Lille and is at the crossroad of three different administrative regions: Wallonia, France and Flanders. Mouscron is signatory to the Covenant of Mayors since 2012, and recently extended its commitment to reduce CO2 of 40% by 2030. Mouscron is a pioneer city in Wallonia thanks to its involvement in many European initiative and projects for a low-carbon economy. The City wants to mobilize its population and has already offered premiums and hours of coaching to the most eco-responsible citizens. Furthermore, in order to compensate the lack of public investment capacity, Mouscron supported the creation in 2017 of one private-public cooperative, COOPEM, managed by citizens, to support investment in renewable energy and energy savings.

News about Mouscron